// you’re reading...


2014 Filmmaker Awards Announced

Each year we honor a number of our films and filmmakers with a SFGFF Award. Winners will be announced throughout the Festival. Be sure to vote at the film screenings and help us decide who will win the Audience Award.

Our awards are 3-D printed by Type A Machines in the theater during the Festival from Polylactic Acid (PLA), a bioplastic that is nontoxic, recyclable, and compostable. The awards use a zero waste process and are 100% locally produced. Below, see the 3-D printer in action during the 2014 Festival – and read more about how we designed and made the awards over on the Type A Machines blog.

Friends of the Urban Forest donate a tree-planting as part of the Audience Award. The tree is planted in San Francisco as a gift from the audience of the Green Film Festival in honor of the winning film.

Markus Imhoof with 2013 Best Feature Award

Makrus Imhoof with 2013 Best Feature Award for More Than Honey.

2014 Ben Knight, Travis Rummel, Matt Stoecker, DamNation
2013 Marcus Imhoof, More Than Honey
2012 Anthony Baxter, You’ve Been Trumped

2014 Jilli Rose, Sticky
2013 Douglas Gayeton, The Story of An Egg
2012 Simon Robson, Coalition of the Willing

2014 Leah Mahan, Come Hell or High Water: The Battle for Turkey Creek
2013 Thomas Riedelsheimer
2012 Frank Piasecki Poulsen, Blood in the Mobile
2011 Fredrik Gertten, Bananas!*

2014 David Bond, Project Wild Thing
2013 Beth and George Gage, Bidder 70
2012 Mark MacInnis, Urban Roots

2014 Sandy McLeod, Seeds of Time
2013 Patrick Shen, La Source
2012 Mark Hall, Sushi: the Global Catch

2014 Reuben Aaronson, Amazon Gold

The Green Film Network is an association of the leading environmental film festivals worldwide, including SFGFF, and aims to support the diversity and the strength of documentary work around the globe. In 2014, we launched the first annual Green Film Network Award as the transnational award for best environmental documentary of the year. Nominated by the GFN member film festivals and selected by an international jury, the award includes a prize of 5,000 Euros and an award presentation and screening at a GFN festival, to rotate each year.